Tonkatsu x Chips : Collaboration of Chops and Junk Food

Filipinos love rice. We pair rice with different hot dish, or blend the dish with rice like a bibimbap, or with fruits like banana or mango, and the weirdest of them all: with chips.

Long before KFC Philippines have introduced a fried chicken breaded with Clover chips in Cheese Flavor (I suddenly missed it), using junk food to go along with rice is not new to me. I remember trying to put cheese powder (included in a pack of chicken nuggets) to my rice, and to my delight it tastes nice. Next thing I did is to pair the rice with a cheese flavored junk food I bought in a sari-sari store.

Thinking with the idea of KFC in mind, why not try using junk food as a replacement for bread crumbs?

I would like to share how I managed to use a nacho cheese flavored chips as a replacement for bread crumbs.

Ingredients:

2 pcs Pork Chop (or beef), around half centimeter thick

Potato Starch (or All Purpose flour)

1 Egg, beaten

Nacho-style chips

2 cloves of Garlic, crushed

Bayleaf

Cooking oil for frying

Salt and pepper to taste

Lets do it!

1. Boil chops with water, garlic, salt, pepper, and bayleaf. Remove from water once meat is tender.

2. Prepare the breading. Add salt and pepper to the potato starch.

3. Crush Nacho chips in to small pieces.

I used Oishi Panchos (not an Ad) for this recipe.
Make sure not to turn the chips into powder. Make it crispy!

4. Dredge the wet chop pieces to the seasoned potato starch. Try to shake off excess breading.

5. Dip in the beaten egg. Make sure to coat the chop evenly.

6. Bread the coated chops in the crushed nacho chips. Dip it again in the scrambled egg, and coat again with the chips.

7. Lets fry! In a frying pan, put enough oil to cook the chops on one side. Make sure it is on moderate heat, to avoid the nacho chips from burning.

8. Flip to other side once reverse side is cooked.

9. Viola! Best enjoyed with Garlic Mayo dip (mayonnaise with garlic powder), or Mayo mixed with Tomato Ketchup. Best paired with rice, of course. Serve hot.

Tonkatsu x Junk Food: A cheap affair to remember. Where’s my rice?

Share with me your weird (yet delicious) recipes! Comment on this post or send me a DM over twitter or through instagram (@ranmanila).

Leave a comment