Buying a Vintage Nokia Phone: the 5310 XpressMusic in 2019

One of the amazing things being a 90’s kid is the advanced developing technology that you witness as you grow up. I owned a Sony Walkman when I was a kid, had an MP4 player as a gift on my teenage year, saw how audio & video player are integrated into mobile phones on my college days, and how tablets made its way as a portable entertainment system.

Of course, these technology have a slash-in-your-pocket prices. As these devices get old in store shelves, prices decrease and we still dream into owning these gadgets. There are times that even if they have gotten cheaper, something new with a more advanced feature will come out in the market. There are also some devices that we still wanted even if years have passed by. Its like a trophy saying, I finally had my dream phone!

In the year 2008 (I think), my aunt bought a Php 15000+ (approx 300 USD) phone. It was a music dedicated mobile phone from Nokia, the 5310 XpressMusic. It was a fascinating piece of device, though I own a Nokia N70 Music Edition at the time. It was a very thin mobile phone, with a 3.5mm earphone jack that was very convenient. Most phones have a different audio adaptors in that era. My mobile phone required a Pop-Port adaptor in order to have a regular earphone jack. It was a device perfect for any music lover.

Being a college student at the time, it was a way impossible to own a phone like that (except if you won the lottery) by your own. My cousin have seen the phone from my aunt and he was really amused about it. He also wanted the Nokia 5300, a slide phone with music controls at the side. Even if my father gave me an N-Series phone, I still wanted other Nokia flagships. Talk about uncontentment.

Way back then, devices which support 1GB MicroSD cards were the high end phones. My cousin used to own a Nokia 3110 Classic, which can only support 512MB cards. When new songs come out, he needed to delete some of the files to give way to new MP3-format songs. I always thought that our aunt’s phone was perfect for him. It was also classy and looks better than the original Nokia phone he wanted.

Fast forward to today, my cousin now owned a lot of tech stuff (he can afford to buy a new iPhone anytime he wants – thats how he much he earns now 😂). Until last year, he asked me where can he buy an old Nokia phone here in the UAE. He cannot find a good store, so I went ahead and searched for one. Secret: I also want a (vintage) Nokia N95 8GB, so I checked mobile phone shops everywhere for my personal benefit.

When I finally decided, I found a shop and I will not tell it here (as there could be a slight chance that he will be reading this). I know he wouldn’t ask the store for the price, but who knows. Maybe someone would bother to let him know. His birthday was coming up, and I gave him a vintage Nokia phone.

When I first saw the box, I said ‘What the hell??!’. The box looked like a cardboard made from kraft paper, photocopied a Nokia box somewhere, cut and folded it, and viola! A fake Nokia box. I was really expecting it would come with the original box that it had a decade ago. I guess I should not bother with the box, as the phone inside is the most important. I think this is how Nokia resell refurbished old models, in smaller boxes to save the environment from too much trash. I owned a Nokia N70, right? The box size was close to one of a shoe’s. When you open it, it feels like you paid a lot so they have to give you a lot. It included tons of manuals with different languages, with all the accessories you need in the box.

The box may look like a knock-off, at least the phone’s a real deal. (P.S. Excuse me for my flat lay skills, they look like a mess)

Opening the box, first thing you will see are warnings from manufacturer in a still weird print – an out of this world non-uniform font that Nokia never used on its packaging. The phone was placed at the side, and first thing you’ll see is the volume rocker. Open the box further and it will show you the accessories included. A charger, a Nokia earphones (3.5mm plug), and the legendary BL (series) 4C lithium battery that will complete the package.

It feels so small. When we saw this phone for the first time, buttons felt like as big as my thumb! Oh well, maybe due to the enormous touch screen phones we have today.

Turning on the phone, it will greet you with the famous handshake accompanied by the Nokia tune. The screen looks polished and it looks the same when I first touched this phone. As what most people do, I checked both the earphone and the charger, and its working. Checked each of the key, and its doing good. What really makes this phone stand out is the dedicated music controls at the left side of the screen. Easier than the iOS and Android’s turn-the-screen-on-and-control-the-music keys.

I remember borrowing my aunt’s phone to play Tower Bloxx, a game pre-installed on the phone. It was a challenge to balance a stack of building floors in a swinging construction hook. The phone also includes a modern Snake version. (I miss Symbian OS, we just download and install for free from a safe site somewhere.) It still has the essential apps you can see in a mobile phone. Typing is a bit weird, in a generation of qwerty’s. Since it didn’t come with a memory card, I was not able to try playing MP3 songs and check how it would play. Though the music controls can be used with the built in FM radio. Speakers are doing good as well, but never compre it to the phones of today. Mind you, this is one of the best stereo speakers at the time.

Gaaad! This is a lot for a #FlashbackFriday! Things we’re uncomplicated! No OS upgrade to be worried about, viruses can be avoided easily, messaging didnt require an internet connection, and most of all, phone battery lasts for 2 days. Guaranteed. Power banks were not a thing at that time.

When I think its doing fine, I gave it to my cousin on his birthday. He was surprised when he opened it, and we are both wondering how the phone felt so small. This phone was like a toy for tech enthusiasts, or for people who would like to reminisce the old good times of simpler tech.

This phone is unbelievably small when I remembered it. I don’t remember my hands growing a significant size from a decade ago.

Bought a decade old Nokia phone? I would like to know your experience in the comments below, or shoot me a message on my twitter and instagram account. I am planning to buy one for me as well!

Leave a comment